Limbo

The school system I work for, back in May, cut 492 jobs. 305 of those are non-tenured teachers (you must work for the system for 3 years to be considered tenured).  Last year was my first year, so this puts me in jeopardy. I am still (patiently) waiting to hear from my principal about whether or not I will be rehired. There is a Board meeting on July 24th, so hopefully that will be the day I learn of my fate.

The fact that my certification is in Elementary Education is a good thing.  This means I could go into a regular K-5 classroom.  I love my job as a computer/technology teacher and hope with all my heart I get to keep my job, but since there is a possibility I may not, I decided to make a list of pros for having my own classroom.

  • It would be an interesting experience to be with a certain group of students all year long.  Right now I see over 800 a week.
  • It would be fun to incorporate technology into my regular classroom teaching on a daily basis.
  • I would love to do some online projects with them.  Seeing all grade levels, it would be too cumbersome to do these projects.  I guess I could choose certain classes, but I think I would feel bad having to choose. Right now I have just been informing the teachers about them and assisting them if they want to participate.
  • I would love to make class movies similar to Mrs. Newingham’s.  These are a must-see if you haven’t seen them.
  • I would love to connect with another classroom through ePals.

Ok, I feel better already. As soon as I hear, I will update my blog.

  1. Wow .. I have my fingers crossed that you hear something soon!




Leave a Reply

  • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,327 hits

