Computer Lab Themes

After seeing Vicky S’s cool computer lab wiki on the Elementary Tech Teachers Ning, I noticed her lab will have a theme this year: It’s a Small World.  I really love the idea of having a yearly theme, and it would be an excuse to spruce up the room a bit.  I think it would grab the students’ interest as well and get them excited about what they will learn in the lab.

I googled “computer lab themes” and ran across a fabulous computer lab website by Mrs. Steen.  She has a jungle theme in her lab, complete with decorations and “Top Banana” awards! She has so many resources for other computer lab teachers as well, including a wealth of thematic links that will definitely come in handy during the year. This is definitely a site to check out if you are a computer lab teacher.

I guess you can adapt any classroom theme to the computer lab, so that is my mission. I will report back my findings and decision!

Update: I just found a treasure trove of computer lab pictures decorated in the “Study Island” theme from the contest they had back in 2007. Click on the school entries by state at the bottom to see all of the entries. It will take forever to look through them all!

  1. bruce horsley

    I teach computer apps to 7th and 8th grade students. We have recently moved into another facility to become a 5-8 middle school. I will still have just 7th and 8th graders. I really appreciate your ideas of a theme for the classroom. I was thinking about having a timeline/technology theme since the printing press, but am having a difficult time with details. If you have any known links I could go to for ideas, thanks. Hope you have a great school year. BTW we are in central Al.

  1. 1 Computer Lab Theme Update « AMBER COGGIN

    […] Lab Theme Update 13 07 2008 In my last post I explained that I have decided to go with a theme in the computer lab this year. After many Google […]




Leave a Reply

  • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,330 hits

