Construction Has Started

Since finding out about my job status, I felt I could move full speed ahead and actually do a little decorating in my room. I have been busy brainstorming ideas for classroom decorations for the upcoming year to go along with my construction theme. Friday, my wonderful husband went with me to begin putting up a “road” on one of my walls in my classroom. It turned out great, but I totally forgot to bring my camera with me to get pics. I will add some next week. I have decided to do the road on one wall (the Information Highway), and do large tools (hammer, wrench, saw, etc.) on my other large wall. The title will be “Technology Tools” and I will write the names of some of the tools we will be using throughout the year (Blogs, Wikis, Podcasting, etc.).

Today I managed to get my traffic light decoration made. I plan on hanging it from the ceiling in the middle of the room.

Continue below to see how I made it (includes pics).

Here’s how I made it:

  • I made the actual light box and the light visors out of poster board.
  • I made the lights out of old cds.
  • I spray painted everything separately.
  • I put it together with hot glue.

What a chore! My plan was to do more than one, but not after I realized it would take so long.  Here are some pictures.

Front ViewImage and video hosting by TinyPic

  1. I’m looking forward to seeing the photos of your room. It’s amazing how long it takes to make something like this. It looks really good.
    Ann

  2. Great ideas! I’m always looking for decorations/ideas for my lab. So many of the tech posters are made for little kids or high schoolers, and mine are middlers. Thanks for the inspiration. @lsshanks

  3. Vicky

    Really cute Amber. I like the Information Highway idea. Can’t wait to see photos.

  4. It is really wonderful to get started on getting your lab ready. Your idea with the construction theme is terrific. I too, look forward to seeing it when you post pictures.

    * Heidi Pence
    http://hpence.blogspot.com

  5. Susie Klausmeyer

    I love the traffic light! You are so creative. I hope to post some pictures of my room later this week. I’m really excited about my decorations. I just need to get the computers loaded and where they belong and I’ll feel much better.

  6. I love your stop light! I can’t wait to see the pictures of the rest of your room.

    I’ve been busy working on my room too. When I found a big train at one of our local teaching stores, I decided on the theme “Information Station”. I made a big cloud of smoke with that title on it and then I’ll put the different things we’ll do this year on the train cars. I – again – redid the header on my blog. I’m getting pretty good at making the header on a Power Point slide and then saving it as a JPEG.

    I also made the giant keyboard and hung it up. It turned out great. I have to cut out all of my laminating tonight and then I hope to put up the last of my decorations tomorrow. I’ll take some pictures and post them here.

    Tomorrow is the big day that the IT people come to rewire my lab and clean up all of the computers. Since no one has really been in charge of the lab for the past two years, they are a bit of a mess. I will feel so much better when I actually have computers up and running!

    Great job everyone! I love this ning!!

  7. I love your theme for the new year and I can just imagine how excited the kids will be when they walk in the lab and see all the cool things you have there and all your great ideas for the upcoming year.

  8. linnic

    Great theme! I just love your traffic light! I am doing “Let Learning take your around the World” in my lab. We are doing continent studies and I have lots of maps and globes all over. Themes can be so much fun!!




Leave a Reply

  • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,327 hits

