First Day Back

Today was the first day back for teachers. We started out with meetings geared more toward classroom teachers, along with administrative information. This was my first “first day” so I wasn’t sure exactly what would be going on. I heard a lot of “Welcome Back!”s from the teachers who hadn’t seen me since last year. After the meetings, 3-5 came into the lab for a training session on Renaissance Place which is the web-based program taking the place of Accelerated Reader.  The training started out so slow with the presenter beginning the presentation as if we were totally new to Accelerated Reader when in fact the teachers have been using it for years. Once we got going the session was very informative for the teachers. Friday K-2 will train so it should go much smoother now that the kinks were worked out today.

After the training (2.5 hrs!), we went to lunch in the cafeteria to eat a wonderful lunch prepared by our PTA. They had it decorated in a newspaper theme which was really cute, and we had hotdogs (they had a cute little hot dog machine, too). Then it was back to another 1 hour meeting and then dismissal. Tomorrow should be more calm.

The lab has taken shape and I plan to put my final pictures on my class blog this weekend. I’ve been so busy the last week getting things made and done. I still have to do outside my front door and a few odds and ends things. Next week the students will start back. I will be conducting STAR testing on Tuesday and Wednesday for all grades. It should be quite hectic seeing so many students in a 2 day period, but hopefully it won’t take longer than 20 minutes per class.

So, more later.

  1. Oh my gosh, you guys go back EARLY! School in Wisconsin doesn’t start til after Labor Day and teachers don’t go back for inservice until August 25! Guess that’s why I was so jealous of you back in May when you were getting out 3 weeks before me 🙂

  2. I was just looking at your Lab Tour in your class blog. Your room looks great! How did you create the large icons on your big monitor on the wall?




Leave a Reply

  • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,343 hits

