STAR testing

All grades took their STAR tests the 2nd week of school, 1st week in the lab. We moved our STAR and AR testing to the web-based Renaissance Place. This meant new user names for the students, but their password remained the same. I created a desktop shortcut directly to the website for them. I demonstrated the log-in process on the SMARTboard by using an actual student log-in. I also printed out the icon enlarged so they would know exactly what to look for.

2nd-5th graders were able to browse to the site, log in, and get started with very few problems. However, first graders proved to be quite a challenge. It normally takes me 2 weeks in order to see all 1st graders since each class comes every other week. In order for everyone to begin on the same page next week, I decided to cram the Week 1 classes in with Week 2.  For the classes who came the first part of the week, I explained the site to them, did an example question with them, and showed them which keys to use on the keyboard (I recommended the number pad), and went over their passwords (their initials). Then I had everyone move to a computer where I had them pull up the site, enter in their password, and wait on me to come type in their username. Some of the first grade teachers stayed to help. Next year I will ask that they all stay the entire time to assist and to also explain the testing procedure before they come to the lab to save on time. I only have first grade for 30 minutes, so it was all very rushed.  Toward the end of the week, I realized that getting the students logged in before their arrival to the lab sped up the process, and I will definitely take this route next year.

Once they finished their test, I let 2nd-5th grade either come back to the carpet and watch The Magic School Bus Gets Programmed from United Streaming or play on Tux Paint.

    Leave a Reply

      • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,343 hits

