Educational Rap

I love rap music. Even at 30 years old and while driving in my mini-van. I stumbled upon Mr. Duey last year and was able to introduce him to my students last quarter through his Fractions video on TeacherTube. They.loved.it. They all laughed when I showed them a preview on the SMARTboard, and even though I gave them other fraction alternatives that day, they all chose to visit Mr. Duey first. I actually had to MAKE them stop watching it, and many students had already learned most of the words after watching it a few times.

This week, one of our 4th grade teachers brought to my attention a song entitled “44 Presidents” she found on an Inaugural resources site I had e-mailed to her. This lead me to the Educational Rap website. This group offers rap songs for Math, Science, Language Arts, and Social Studies.

Here is an excerpt from the website:

Rhythm, Rhyme, Results, LLC (RRR, pronounced “Triple R”) is a production house and online media company founded in 2006 in Cambridge, MA. We currently focus on producing the most entertaining and effective educational music on the planet.

Four versions of each song!

In response to teacher feedback, our albums come with four versions of each song, each of which makes use of a different educational technique to assist the learning process:

• The Original Track presents the complete song at its normal tempo.
• The Downtempo Track presents the complete song at a reduced tempo.
• The Recall Track™ feature eliminates key words and phrases from the lyrics.
• The Instrumental Track provides a karaoke-style version without lead vocals.

As a bonus, the group offers free live streams of nearly 10 songs (lyrics included) for each subject. This is a great way to test the songs out on your students before you buy to determine if they will meet your students’ needs.There are 3 ways to purchase: Amazon, iTunes, and directly from Educational Rap.

If you have used educational rap in the classroom, I would love to hear about your experiences. I will report back with comments from the 4th grade teacher at my school who plans to use this in her classroom.

  1. Emily

    Thanks for posting this blog. It is so encouraging to be reminded that learning is fun. Teachers are so much more effective when their students agree. Thanks for helping children enjoy fractions. 🙂

  2. Kari

    I am a sophmore in college majoring in Elementary Education and special education. I thought it was neat to read how another way of making learning fun in the classroom was by using rap.




Leave a Reply

  • Welcome

    av2My name is Amber Coggin, and I am an Elementary Technology teacher in Mobile, Alabama. I created this blog as a central place to discuss thoughts and ideas regarding what I have going on in the classroom and on the web. I hope you find it useful to you in some way. Read more.
    sblogosm
  • My Tweets

    Error: Please make sure the Twitter account is public.

  • Visitor Locations

  • Blog Stats

    • 34,343 hits

